Skip to content


Your cart is empty

Article: Team Modi - The New Cabinet of Ministers headed by Prime Minister Narendra Modi

Team Modi - The New Cabinet of Ministers headed by Prime Minister Narendra Modi

Team Modi - The New Cabinet of Ministers headed by Prime Minister Narendra Modi

[gallery type="slideshow" ids="4764,4763,4762"]
Lok Sabha Elections 2014 got over on May 12th and the results were declared on May 16th 2014.
BJP emerged as the largest single party with 282 seats and with its allies the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) reached a formidable 337 of the total of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha.
Narendra Modi the most popular figure and prime minister nominee of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) took oath on May 26th 2014 as the 15th Prime Minister of India. Amidst a mammoth gathering of 4000 plus at the Rashtrapathi Bhavan, that included the seven heads of SAARC states and their delegations, members of the former Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha,VIP dignitaries, the who’s who of Bollywood and all those whom Narendra Modi had chosen to invite, the new Prime Minister Mr.Narendra Modi was administered the Oath of Office by the President of India, Shri Pranab Mukherjee.
Alongside this grand moment there were smaller moments of note when the individual ministers of Cabinet rank, Minister of State Rank (Independent Charge) and Minister of State rank took their oaths for the portfolios allocated to them.
Two points of note:
A person who has lost in the Lok Sabha elections but is already a member of the Rajya Sabha still finds a place in the Cabinet, a matter which is still hotly debated in political forums and in the national arena. The former Prime Minister Mr. Manmohan Singh never fought for a Lok Sabha seat yet was Prime Minister for two terms and Finance Minister in an earlier Government.
A Minister of State is a junior minister in a government of federal structure like that of India having states and a centre. The role of a minister of state could be to assist a cabinet minister having the portfolio or he could be assigned a smaller portfolio and given independent charge. There is a ceiling prescribed by the Constitution of India that restricts the number of ministers of state in the federal government.
The current Lower House has 24 ministers of Cabinet Rank, 10 ministers of State (with independent charge) and 12 ministers of State.
The list of minister with their portfolios is as follows:

Name Portfolio Rank Party
1 Narendra Modi   PM BJP
2 Rajnath Singh Home Affairs Cabinet Minister BJP
3 Sushma Swaraj External Affairs Cabinet Minister BJP
Overseas Indian Affairs
4 Arun Jaitley Finance Cabinet Minister BJP
Corporate Affairs
5 Venkaiah Naidu Urban Development Cabinet Minister BJP
Housing & Urban Poverty Alleviation
Parliamentary Affairs
6 Nitin Gadkari Road Transport & Highways Cabinet Minister BJP
7 D.V.Sadananda Gowda Railways Cabinet Minister BJP
8 Uma Bharti Water Resources, River Development and Ganga Rejuvenation Cabinet Minister BJP
9 Najma Heptullah Minority Affairs Cabinet Minister BJP
10 Gopinath Munde Rural Development Cabinet Minister BJP
11 Ram Vilas Paswan Consumer Affairs, Food & Public Distribution Cabinet Minister Lok Janshakthi Party
12 Maneka Gandhi Women & Child Development Cabinet Minister BJP
13 Ananth Kumar Chemicals & Fertilisers Cabinet Minister BJP
14 Ravi Shankar Prasad Law & Justice Cabinet Minister BJP
Communications & Information Technology
15 Pusapati Ashok Gajapati Raju Civil Aviation Cabinet Minister Telugu Desam Party
16 Anant Geete Heavy industries & Public Enterprises Cabinet Minister Shiv Sena
17 Harsimrat Kaur Food Processing Industries Cabinet Minister Shiromani Akali Dal
18 Narendra Singh Tomar Mines Cabinet Minister BJP
Labour & Employment
19 Jual Oram Tribal Affairs Cabinet Minister BJP
20 Thawar Chand Gehlot Social Justice & Empowerment Cabinet Minister BJP
21 Smriti Irani Human Resource Development Cabinet Minister BJP
22 Radha Mohan Singh Agriculture Cabinet Minister BJP
23 Harsh Vardhan Health & Family Welfare Cabinet Minister BJP
24 Kalraj Mishra Micro, Small & Medium Enterprises Cabinet Minister BJP
25 Vijay Kumar Singh Development of NE Region MoS (Ind.Charge) BJP
External Affairs, Overseas Indian Affairs
26 Inderjit Singh Rao Planning MoS (Ind.Charge) BJP
Statistics & Programme Implementation
27 Santosh Kumar Gangwar Textiles MoS (Ind.Charge) BJP
Parliamentary Affairs
Water Resources, River Development & Ganga Rejuvenation
28 Sripad Yesso Naik Culture
MoS (Ind.Charge)  
29 Dharmendra Pradhan Petroleum & Natural Gas MoS (Ind.Charge) BJP
30 Sarbananda Sonowal Skill Development, Entrepreneurship, Youth Affairs & Sports MoS (Ind.Charge) BJP
31 Prakash Javadekar Information & Broadcasting MoS (Ind.Charge) BJP
Environment, Forest & Climate Change
Parliamentary Affairs
32 Piyush Goyal Power MoS (Ind.Charge) BJP
Coal, New & Renewable Energy
33 Jitendra Singh Science & Technology MoS (Ind.Charge)  
Earth Sciences
Prime Minister’s Office
Public Grievances & Pensions
Dept. of A.E.
34 Nirmala Sitharaman Commerce & Industry MoS (Ind.Charge) BJP
Corporate Affairs
35 G.M.Siddeshwara Civil Aviation Minister of State  
36 Manoj Sinha Railways Minister of State  
37 Nikhil Chand Chemicals & Fertilizers Minister of State  
38 Upendra Kushwaha Rural Development Minister of State  
Panchayati Raj
Drinking Water & Sanitation
39 Radhakrishnan.P Heavy Industries & Public Enterprises Minister of State BJP
40 Kiren Rijiju Home affairs Minister of State  
41 Krishan Pal Road Transport & Highways, Shipping Minister of State  
42 Sanjeev Kumar Balyan Agriculture, Food Processing Industries Minister of State  
43 Mansukhbhai Dhanjibhai Vasava Tribal affairs Minister of State  
44 Raosaheb Dadarao Danve Consumer Affairs, Food & Public Distribution Minister of State  
45 Vishnu Deo Sai Mines, Steel, Labour & Employment Minister of State  
46 Sudarshan Bhagat Social Justice & Empowerment Minister of State  

The Cabinet Infographics 


The journey has begun. There is euphoria and enthusiasm. With such a good start they sure should do better than expectations.
The NaMo magic has begun! As the song goes – Dukh ke Din Bithe Re Bhaiya Sukh Ke Din Aayo Re, ………. (The dark days are over, happy times are back again……)
Let’s indeed hope for the best!

Read more

The incredible victory of our PM-in-waiting – Mr.Narendra Modi
fresh perspective

The incredible victory of our PM-in-waiting – Mr.Narendra Modi

[gallery type="slideshow" ids="4678,4679,4680,4681"]May 16th 2014, came after an agonizing wait for millions who were eager to know the fate of the country after such a keenly fought, long and tiri...

Read more
Car Keys - We will miss you!! All thanks to our Genius Indian lad
arvind sajeev

Car Keys - We will miss you!! All thanks to our Genius Indian lad

The other day browsing the net I came across something interesting. So I thought that it could interest a few and perk up thousands of others who could be genuinely keen to follow it up.Here is som...

Read more